skip to Main Content

Game Changers 2018

September 14, 2017 @ 8:00 am – 12:15 pm
Computer History Museum
1401 N Shoreline Blvd. Mountain View 94043
Shannon De Atley-Johnson

Thursday, September 14, 2017

7:15 am – 8:00 am Executive Networking
8:00 am – 12:15 pm General Meeting
Computer History Museum

1401 N. Shoreline Blvd, Mountain View, 94043

Don’t miss Game Changers 2018,​ featuring thought-provoking ​discussions​ on California’s economy and business climate ranging from the state of the economy, energy and environmental issues, current innovations as well as how the state remains a competitive force nationally and broad. This year’s panels will bring insightful perspectives and insights from three of the state’s top-tier gubernatorial candidates as well as representatives from the ​public and private sectors. Join us in welcoming former Mayor of Los Angeles Antonio Villaraigosa , California State Treasurer John Chiang and former State Superintendent of Public Instruction Delaine Eastin.

Our “Game Changers 2018” booklet featuring​ perceptive ​ articles from local, state and national leaders will also be released at this event. Some of this year’​s authors include Senate President pro Tempore Kevin de Leon, Lt. Governor Gavin Newsom, California Secretary of State Alex Padilla, Facebook VP of Global Communications, Marketing and Public Policy ​Elliot Schrage as well as numerous other authors.

Meet the Gubernatorial Candidates joining our panels:


(Timeline is tentative and may adjust a few minutes either way)

7:15am – 8:00am Registration (Continental Breakfast, Executive Networking, Community Courtyard)

8am – 8:14am Welcome and introduction to Game Changers 2018 booklet

                          Carl Guardino, President & CEO, Silicon Valley Leadership Group

8:14am –  8:20am  Silicon Valley Competitiveness and Innovation Project (SVCIP) Update

                         Erica Wood, Chief Community Impact Officer, Silicon Valley Community Foundation

                         Dr. Brian Brennan, Senior Vice President, Silicon Valley Leadership Group

Panel 1 Subject: California Competitiveness & Intellectual Capital

8:20am – 9:15am Gubernatorial Candidate: Delaine Eastin, former State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Panelist 1: Gubernatorial Candidate: Delaine Eastin, former State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Panelist 2: Janet Liang, President, Kaiser Permanente

Panelist 3:  Shellye Archambeau, CEO, MetricStream 

Panelist 4: Michael R. Van Every, CEO, Republic Family of Companies

Panelist 5: Kevin Surace, CEO, Appvance

Panelist 6: Steve Smith, Executive VP, Wells Fargo Bank

Panel 2 Subject: California Competitiveness & Financial Capital

9:15am to 10:10am Gubernatorial Candidate: John Chiang, California State Treasurer

Panelist 1: Gubernatorial Candidate: John Chiang, State Treasurer

Panelist 2:   Sonu Ratra, President, Akyra

Panelist 3: Wendi Baker, Principal, Harmonie Park Development

Panelist 4: Ron Sege, Chairman & CEO, Echelon

Panelist 5: Mitch Schoch, President & CEO, Bentek

Panelist 6: Norma Camacho, CEO, Santa Clara Valley Water District

10:10am to 10:30am – Power Break

Panel 3 Subject: California Competitiveness & Human Capital

10:30am to 11:25am – Gubernatorial Candidate: Antonio Villaraigosa, former Mayor of Los Angeles

Panelist 1: Gubernatorial Candidate: Antonio Villaraigosa,former Mayor of Los Angeles

Panelist 2: Joseph Okpaku, VP of Government Relations, Lyft

Panelist 3: Dan Rogers, COO, Blach

Panelist 4: Geetha Vallabhaneni, CEO, Luminix Inc.

Panelist 5: Nam Nguyen, Executive VP, SunPower

Panelist 6: Raul Vazquez, CEO, Oportun

Panelist 7: Dr. Jamillah Moore, President, Canada College

11:25-12:00pm Game Changing Opportunities in Downtown San Jose

Panelist 1: Sam Liccardo, Mayor, City of San Jose
Panelist 2: Jes Pedersen, CEO, Webcor
Panelist 3: Matt Mahan, CEO, Brigade
Panelist 4: Carolyn Gonot, Director Engineering and infrastructure Development, VTA
Panelist 5: Teresa Alvarado, Director, SPUR

12:00pm-12:15pm  Close


We allow attendees to make substitutions on their tickets, but do not issue refunds. 

Thank you to our event sponsors:

For sponsorship opportunities, please contact our Special Events Director, Shannon De Atley-Johnson [email protected]


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Back To Top